Workflows

*This feature is available exclusively to Smokeball Prosper users.

A Workflow is a series of tasks. 

Workflows help eliminate extra admin work by allowing you to automatically designate tasks that happen for every matter.

The best way to think about what workflows to set up for your practice is to think about what areas of your current process are repetitive. If you are completing the same "to-do's" for every client or specific matter type, it's best to set up a workflow. 

Talk to your Account Manager or review sample workflows in the Area of Law Practice Center for suggestions on what workflows to use for your practice.

How to Create a Workflow

  • Navigate to Workflows in Smokeball Settings. There are two ways to get to Smokeball Settings from the home screen.

  • Under Workflows, select "add new" to create a new Workflow. 

  • Enter a name for the Workflow and designate the Matter Type(s) that you want the Workflow to be available for.
    • Choosing the box for "always apply this Workflow to new Matters" is a helpful setting for any Workflow that is widely used.
      • Selecting this setting prevents you from manually having to apply the Workflow each time you want to use it.

  •  Start entering the tasks associated with your workflow.
    • Workflows can be created in chronological order or working back from an important due date.
    • Note: The workflow below shows an example of working back from an important due date of filing a motion. Watch the video at the top of this page to see a video of a workflow being set up in chronological order.
  • Enter in the first Taskname, due date (if applicable, this date can be entered in when working on your matter), and assign the task to a specific staff.

  • All Task features are available for any tasks.
    • Checklists create sub-tasks for the task.

  • Link to a document to create a Form & Template.

  • Follow steps above for the next tasks related to this workflow. *Note: You can create a due date based on when a task is completed or off of a critical date
  • Once all tasks are entered, select Save and Close" to complete the workflow

Did You Know

  • You can reorder the tasks by selecting the task and using the up/down arrows.

  • You can duplicate, delete, and export a workflow by right clicking on the individual workflow

  • If a a workflow is deleted, it can be restored. Right click in the Workflows area to see the 'Show Deleted' option. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Article is closed for comments.